Breakfast Qunioa and Fruit

I was so excited to try this because I love quinoa and fruit but I have never had them together. It has a lot of protein I need for my daily workout, plus the great fruits that I love to eat. I did not have any fresh fruit becuase of not being able to make it to the farmer’s market. Instead I used my premade smoothie freezer packs. In these I have blueberries, strawberries, mango and pineapple. I have also included some uncooked oatmeal.

photo 3 This is a photo of the cooked quinoa. It says to use 1/2 cup of cooked quinoa, I used 1/4 of a cup of dry uncooked and addded 1/2 a cup of water to make the 1/2 cup cooked. You just let it get to a boil, then let it simmer until most of the water is absorbed.

Next I mixed the other ingredients. It called for almond butter and coconut milk, I did not have these, so I used light butter and almond milk instead. The bag is my smoothie pack of the fruit I had.

photo 4

My opinion of the finished product was, so so. It was okay if you like bland healthy food. I was disappointed because I was so excited to make this. I guess you could add sugar which would make it less healthy, but I ate most of it, it just didn’t really have a flavor. Maybe I needed the almond butter and coconut milk like the recipe states. It is a great healthy breakfast but I don’t know if I would make it again.

photo 5 Finished product.

Here is the recipe from Queen of Quinoa

http://www.queenofquinoa.me/2012/06/strawberry-peach-quinoa-breakfast/

Thanks for stopping by for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

