Almighty Spaghetti Squash!

I love spaghetti squash, my husband, not so much. I make it anyway and try to mask the taste for him. I found this recipe for Spaghetti Squash with a creamy avocado sauce. Avocado is another one of my favorite foods, it provides you with the healthy fats that your body needs. Along with the spaghetti squash, this makes for a very healthy meal. Spaghetti squash alone has about 40 calories per cup so substitute that for regular noodles and you are saving a tremendous amount of calories. Not to mention the health benefits of the squash. Cooking the spaghetti squash is easy. What I do is pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees, cut the squash in half, scoop out all the seeds and fibers (just like a pumpkin) then brush some olive oil, and salt over it. Place in the oven cut side down for usually 35-40 minutes. It really just depends on the size of the squash. I tend to get large ones so mine takes the full 40 minutes. When it is done, take a fork and scrape the inside and it should come out looking like noodles!

Image

The creamy avocado sauce makes this delish! I loved it, but my husband blamed a large Subway sandwich for lunch as his reason to not eat much. I know he is not a fan, but that won’t stop me from making it! He can be unhealthy on his time, but on my time, he will eat healthy. Here is what my avocado sauce turned out to look like.

Image

All I did was use my food processor to make all the ingredients into this yummy creamy sauce! My finished dish looked like this:

Image

In the end, I loved this! It was simply amazing. I even felt a little healthier after eating it. I had a lot of leftover squash because my husband hardly ate any. It freezes well in an airtight container.

Here is where I got the recipe from:

http://ohsheglows.com/2012/09/28/creamy-avocado-spaghetti-squash-pasta-how-to-roast-spaghetti-squash/

Try some spaghetti squash today, you made find you like it better than noodles!

Stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

